AVID’s mission is to close the achievement gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society.

Advancement Via Individual Determination

Central Division


Welcome to the Central Division!


Arkansas
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
South Dakota
Texas
Wisconsin

Showcases

 

 

AVID Showcases provide an opportunity for educators to see an AVID implementation, share best practices, and learn more about AVID hands-on. The Showcase experience includes AVID Elective and content class observations and a chance to speak with experienced AVID site team members and students.

 

If you want to know more about how AVID works for teachers and students to improve school culture and performance or are considering implementing AVID in your school or district, or are a current AVID school and want to gain insight from another AVID implementation, register for an upcoming AVID Showcase. To print a complete list of 2017-2018 Central Division AVID Showcases, click here.

2017-18


Date Location School
Oct. 3, 2017 McAllen ISD-TX McAllen High School
Oct. 24, 2017 McKinney ISD-TX Scott Johnson / Evans Middle Schools
Oct. 26, 2017 Garland ISD-TX North Garland High School
Nov. 7, 2017 Manor ISD-TX Decker Middle School
Nov. 9, 2017 Richardson ISD-TX Richardson High School
Nov. 13, 2017 Peoria-IL Franklin Primary School
Nov. 14, 2017 South Washington County-MN Pullman Elementary School
Nov. 15, 2017 North Kansas City-MO Winnetonka High School
Nov. 16, 2017 Burnsville ISD 191-MN Nicollett Middle School
Jan. 18, 2017 Mansfield ISD-TX Mansfield Timberview High School
Jan. 30, 2018 Arlington ISD-TX Bowie High School
Jan. 31, 2018 Socorro ISD-TX El Dorado High School
Feb. 1, 2018 Crowley ISD-TX Summer Creek Middle School
Feb. 5, 2018 Mequon-Thiensville-WI Homestead High School
Feb. 6, 2018 Austin ISD-TX Bedichek Middle School
Feb. 6, 2018 North St. Paul-Maplewood Oakdale ISD John Glenn Middle School
Feb. 7, 2018 Humble ISD-TX Humble Middle School
Feb. 8, 2018 Grand Prairie ISD-TX Grand Prairie High School
Feb. 8, 2018 Lubbock ISD-TX Coronado High School
Feb. 8, 2018 Pflugerville ISD-TX Dessau Middle School
Feb. 13, 2018 Tyler ISD-TX Hubbard Middle School
Feb. 15, 2018 MSD of Washington Township-IN Westlane Middle School
Feb. 15, 2018 College Station ISD-TX Oakwood Intermediate School
Feb. 20, 2018 Garland ISD-TX Sellers Middle School
Feb. 21, 2018 Norman Public Schools-OK Norman High School
Feb. 22, 2018 Mansfield ISD-TX Howard Middle School
Feb. 27, 2018 Birdville ISD-TX Haltom High School
Mar. 7, 2018  Arlington ISD-TX Lamar High School
Mar. 29, 2018 Keller ISD-TX  Fossil Ridge High School
Apr. 19, 2018 Ysleta ISD-TX Desert View Middle School
Apr. 27, 2018 Richardson ISD-TX LV Berkner High School


AVID Spotlight

 

 

AVID Spotlights are held at AVID Elementary sites. They typically last two hours. During an AVID Spotlight, participants will get to hear from the school leadership team and visit classrooms of AVID trained teachers demonstrating AVID strategies and methodologies in order to engage all learners and raise the level of rigor in the classroom.

 

To print a complete list of 2017-2018 Central Division AVID Spotlights, click here.

2017-18


Date Location School
Oct. 5, 2017 Bertram, TX Bertram Elementary School
Oct. 11, 2017 Alvarado, TX Alvarado Intermediate School
Oct. 17, 2017 San Antonio, TX Sinclair Elementary School
Nov. 2, 2017 Waco, TX La Vega Primary School
Nov. 6, 2017 Alief, TX Youngblood Intermediate School
Nov. 16, 2017 Austin, TX Decker Elementary School
Dec. 15, 2017 Odessa, TX Hays Elementary School
Feb. 5, 2018 Alief, TX Cummings Elementary School
Feb. 13, 2018 Cedar Hill, TX Cedar Hill Collegiate Prep Elementary School
Feb. 27, 2018 Waco, TX Cedar Ridge PDS Elementary School
Mar. 2, 2018 Dallas, TX Annie Webb Blanton Elementary School
Mar. 5, 2018 Burnet, TX RJ Richey Elementary School
Mar. 21, 2018 Fort Worth, TX Jackie Carden Elementary School
Apr. 18, 2018 Sinton, TX Welder Elementary School


Central Division

 

11910 Greenville Ave., Suite 300
Dallas, TX 75243
Phone: (972) 591-2550
Fax: (800) 341-9487

Name Position Phone Email

 

 

 

 

Wendell Brown Senior Division Director (972) 591-2528 wbrown@avid.org
Rudy Martinez Assistant Division Director (TX ESC Region 20) (858) 380-4746 rmartinez@avid.org
Valerie Peterson
Partner Engagement Manager
(858) 633-0140
vpeterson@avid.org
Frances O'Brien Administrative Assistant (972) 591-2531 fobrien@avid.org
Diana Mbugua Administrative Assistant (972) 591-2532 dmbugua@avid.org

Midwest Region (IL, IN, IA, KS, MI, MN, MO, ND, SD, OH, WI)


Name Position Phone Email

 

 

 

 

Rachel Henley Midwest Region States Director (SD) (858) 633-0117 rhenley@avid.org
Shannon Bailey Program Manager (IA, IL, MN, ND) (858) 654-5019
sbailey@avid.org
Lee Felts Program Manager (IN, MI, OH) (817) 658-7245 lfelts@avid.org
Gina Gamnis Program Manager (MN)
(651) 470-6463 ggamnis@avid.org
Joseph Miske Program Manager (MN, ND) (651) 335-1253 jmiske@avid.org
Marilyn Gilbert-Mitchell
Program Manager (IL)
(858) 654-5016
mgilbertmitchell@avid.org
Karin Swainey Project Manager (IL, WI) (612) 709-9091 karno@avid.org
Rita Williams Program Manager (KS, MO) (620) 655-1746 rwilliams@avid.org

Southern Region (AR, OK, TX)


Name Position Phone Email

 

 

 

 

Patrick Briggs Southern Region States Director (AR) (972) 591-2517 pbriggs@avid.org
Barbara Copeland Assistant State Director (TX ESC Regions 4, 5, 6) (972) 591-2525 bcopeland@avid.org
Pamela Carter Kirschner Program Manager (TX ESC Regions 12, 13, 15) (858) 633-0120 pkirschner@avid.org
Christie Martinez Program Manager (OK) (210) 685-9312 cmartinez@avid.org
Kassie McMillan Program Manager (TX ESC Regions 7, 8, 10, 19) (469) 525-7123 kmcmillan@avid.org
Jeanne Mercer Program Manager (TX ESC Regions 1, 2, 3) (956) 393-9374 jmercer@avid.org
Mike Mozingo Program Manager (TX ESC Regions 9, 11, 14) (972) 591-2529 mmozingo@avid.org
Tiffany Tahu Program Manager (TX ESC Regions 10, 16, 17, 18) (214) 755-0397 ttahu@avid.org
Amy Chapman Administrative Assistant (972) 591-2518 achapman@avid.org
Krista Curnutt Administrative Assistant (972) 591-2521 kcurnutt@avid.org


New Client Form